Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

blooming

i thank You [Universe] God for most this amazing
day:for the leaping greenly spirits of trees
and a blue true dream of sky; and for everything
which is natural which is infinite which is yes

(i who have died am alive again today,
and this is the sun’s birthday; this is the birth
day of life and of love and wings: and of the gay
great happening illimitably earth)

how should tasting touching hearing seeing
breathing any–lifted from the no
of all nothing–human merely being
doubt unimaginable You?

(now the ears of my ears awake and
now the eyes of my eyes are opened)

~e.e. cummings

~~~

It is quiet now in the house. My children, both well and ill are safely sleeping. My belly is full of food lovingly raised and lovingly prepared. Soulful music floats around me. I feel oh, so content.

As I end one trip around the sun and begin another, my heart is overflowing with gratitude. I found such abundance in the year that has passed and am excited for the discoveries of this year yet to come.

There has been a shift in my heart.
There has been a shift in my soul.

I feel changed – rooted, nourished, whole. Awakened. This new-found centered-ness — this powerful stillness — has become the foundation of my creativity and of my freedom. As the trunk of a tree is grows deep within the earth, its roots reaching deep and wide and strong, as the leaves of the trees blow and turn and twist and flutter, this is as I am. I am both grounded and free, settled and wide open.

I am so grateful to have found my way to this place on my life’s journey.
I have had a long walk.

No longer moving away from the unpleasant, away from the ugly and the painful and the despairing. No. Now my branches reach for the light, looking toward the sun, embracing the spirits carried by the wind. My feet have found their home. I can feel the dirt between my toes and the strength of the planet below me. My soul has been set free. My arms are wide open, dancing in the air. My heart is open to the sky. My face soaks in the light of so much love, so much wonder.

I celebrate this birthday with my whole self.

I recognize that I will continue to experience new seasons of life. I understand that tides change and that the moon cycles. I am prepared to grow and to stretch. This tree that is me will have new limbs sprout and old dead wood that will need to be pruned. This is as it should be.

This is the gift that is my life.

happy pancakes

