Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

I am most myself when I am centered in a creative space. I see and feel the world differently. I am more open, more grateful, more passionate. I remain more aware of the wonder that surrounds me. Reading transports me both far away and deep within. Crochet is my meditation. It soothes the rough edges of my busy days. Please join me as I share the pages I have been turning and the yarn I have been hooking this week.

~~~

I am so grateful to again connect with the wonderful community of knitters and crocheters Ginny gathers together with her yarn along each week.

~~~

love day

a little something sweet i made on valentines day

This week has been insanely busy for me in the most amazing of ways. I began my week with a trip to nearby Shepherdstown, WV to meet a couple of my best girlfriends for coffee at a groovy local shop for some gossip and to get my fix of sweet baby snuggles. I had great coffee, enthusiastic conversation, a big dose of squishy baby boy and I took a major step forward with Cedar Tree Crochet. I am proud to announce that beginning in March I will have my initial line of handmade vintage inspired accessories available at Plum, a delightful boutique that features local artisans and their work. I immediately connected with the owner, Roni when I stopped in to take a look around at her offerings and after showing her just the two bracelets I had on my wrist, she asked me to bring back a larger collection of my work for her to purchase and to sell. I think I did a happy dance on the sidewalk as soon as I stepped out of the shop.

I rode that high for a good day or two, then the reality of the situation set in. Not only did I have a marathon six day work week at the restaurant this week, I also had the additional weight of a deadline looming over me. I had a full-on panic attack Friday night. I am discovering that having my deepest, most desired dreams begin to manifest is both exhilarating and terrifying. My work is popular (I still have orders rolling in from friends both local and far away via FaceBook) and I’m making money (yay!), but now I have to put my hook where my mouth is and produce a huge volume of handmade pieces. My time is at a premium.

I have been coping with this stress by hooking my way through it. Every day before work, or, more often than not, after a long day on my feet, while the house is quiet and my babes are sound asleep, I work. I work and work and work. I am burning the midnight oil. I’m tired, but in the most satisfying of ways. I’ve heard of other people who work both tirelessly and joyfully for their goals, feeling an undeniable calling to their craft. I’m beginning to understand this pull, I think. I have never ever in my life felt like this before. I am pouring my passion into these stitches and people are responding with such humbling positivity. I am feeling both uncomfortable and gleeful, which I’m discovering is an intoxicating combination. This is new creative space for me — public and open and vulnerable and exposed. I feel myself growing in so many ways. My skills are improving in leaps and bounds and my work is beginning to take on a unique artistic voice. I am so excited and so grateful. 

Thank you for joining me on this journey.

Here is a look at some of the pieces I’ve hooked this week:

these bracelets were just a few of the pieces i've had commissioned this week. the buyer chose the color combinations.

these bracelets were just a few of the pieces i’ve had commissioned this week. the buyer chose the color combinations

the foundation of my business to date has been these fun scalloped bracelets

the foundation of my business to date has been these fun scalloped bracelets

i love the combination of punk and femininity in this wide lace cuff i made for a friend

i love the combination of punk and femininity in this wide lace cuff i made for a friend

ivory flowers

i love the boho feel of this piece. i'll always have a little hippie in me...

a boho headband, my first piece for Plum. i’ll always have a little hippie in me…

mossy lace

my most detailed work to date, this necklace is still a work in progress. made with locally hand dyed linen

my most detailed work to date, this necklace is still a work in progress. made with locally hand dyed linen

The mossy green necklace pictured above makes my creative self so proud. It was this necklace that first sparked the idea of Cedar Tree Crochet. I found an unattached image of this piece floating around online and had it saved on my phone. I looked at it longingly for months and eventually tracked down a handwritten chart for the pattern. I had no idea how to read the chart or even where to begin. This piece was my soul’s inspiration. This week I decided that it was finally time to give this beauty a try. I took it one stitch at a time and am thrilled with the result. (My heart is all aflutter… I read a chart!) I can’t wait to get to all of the finishing touches later today — I’m going to use a jewelry clasp for the first time. I am planning to try this pattern with several different yarns to see what I like best. Can you tell I’m a little bit in love? Oh, that midnight oil has been good to me.

PS – As you can imagine there hasn’t been a single page turned this week…

~~~

My mind quiets and my well fills when I am engaged with a good book or when my hands are busy creating something beautiful. If you feel moved to share what you have been reading or creating, please leave a link in the comments below so we may revel in each other’s creative pursuits.

 

 

