Tags

, , , , , ,

granny smith goodness

ooey gooey yum

I posted an image of these yummy treats on Instagram and was almost immediately asked for the recipe. So, voilà! I decided to share it here with you and with my Instagram family — all who might want a little more paleo goodness in their lives. These muffins are actually a variation of my (paleo) blueberry bread and are delightfully quick and easy to whip up. Today was cold and rainy and gray so I made these this afternoon to warm up my kitchen. What smells more heavenly than the scent of warm apples and cinnamon wafting from the oven? Not much, in my opinion. Not much.

~~~

2 cups almond flour
4 large eggs
2 Tbsp raw honey
1 Tbsp all natural vanilla extract
1 Tbsp ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp apple cider vinegar
1 large Granny Smith apple diced and lightly sauteed (I used a bit of coconut oil)

A. Combine dry ingredients in a medium bowl and whisk thoroughly to eliminate any clumps (almond flour is very moist compared to conventional wheat flour)

B. Combine wet ingredients and mix thoroughly

C. Stir the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients mixing until combined

D. Stir in cooled apples

E. Place batter into a greased (we use coconut oil) muffin pan and bake at 350 degrees for 10-15 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean

F. Cool in the pan for about 10 minutes then gently pop then out, top with homemade coconut butter and serve!

makes about one dozen muffins

coconut make it even better

These muffins were inspired by a recipe I found here.

