Tags

, , , , , , ,

I am most myself when I am centered in a creative space. I see and feel the world differently. I am more open, more grateful, more passionate. I remain more aware of the wonder that surrounds me. Crochet is my meditation. It soothes the rough edges of my busy days. Please join me as I share yarn I have been hooking this week.

~~~

I am so grateful to again connect with the wonderful community of knitters and crocheters Ginny gathers together with her yarn along each week.

~~~

waiting for baby

all wrapped  up

What a busy week I’ve had with my crochet hook! I was able to finish the last few rows of the baby hat I have been working on for the better part of a year. (You can  find my original post here.) I felt so satisfied sewing on that pretty little flower, wrapping it up oh, so sweetly and finally gifting it to a very excited expectant papa. Sigh. My heart overflowed when he told me not only did he love it, but that it was the first gift that he and his wife had received for this, their third child. I still treasure the hats my babies wore as tiny infants and hope that this hat will hold memories for them as mine do for me.

I also had a breakthrough of sorts this week and was able to hook my very first, although simple, bit of lace. I feel like all of the hard work and learning I have done to this point was simply in preparation for this lace work. My fingers feel called to these small intricate stitches and sweet feminine designs. I have had an outpouring of creative energy and find myself working late into the night trying to figure out new techniques and master new patterns. Although YouTube has been a great resource in these past few weeks, I am thrilled to have connected with a local woman who offers private lessons. (Yay! Yay! Yay!) She is going to help me learn to read charts and patterns more fluently, as well and take on some more detailed lace techniques.

first broomstick lace

~my very first attempt at broomstick lace. i’m in love with this technique and will be working hard to make my fabric look more refined.

sunset collection

~these simple scalloped bracelets have been a hit where i work! i can hardly keep up with requests and am exited to be able to purchase a new work light and a few essential supplies with the money my amazing co-workers have invested in me. they are strongly encouraging me to start an etsy shop. i’m not completely convinced quite yet. (it seems like so much work!) do any of you have positive or negative experiences with starting your own etsy shop? please share…

pretty peter pan

~this sweet peter pan collar feels particularly special to me. of all the pieces i have hooked this week, this feels the most special. worked late into the night, by the light of my dim bedside lamp, it turned out exactly how i wanted. my heart swells just looking at it. what a wonderful tangible memory of this time of personal creative abundance. 

~~~

My mind quiets and my well fills when I am engaged with a good book or when my hands are busy creating something beautiful. If you feel moved to share what you have been reading or creating, please leave a link in the comments below so we may revel in each other’s creative pursuits.

