Tags

, , , , , , ,

hot from the oven

moist and delicious

I have a very sensitive belly and am on an ever-evolving journey with food. It has taken me many years to learn how to hear what my body is telling me. Now I listen very carefully and heed its messages. My body has a lot of very strong opinions. For now, and for as long as it feels good and right, I am choosing to avoid grains, legumes, dairy and refined sugar (a bit of raw honey or pure maple syrup is a rare treat). I have also released my caffeine habit and only occasionally enjoy a glass of my very favorite red wine. The popular name for this style of eating is Paleo or Primal. I am not married to those labels, understanding that this works well for me now, but that I need to remain in awareness of my body.

Many people, when they first learn of my dietary choices, immediately ask me, “What can you eat?” I can eat oh, so many things — delicious local and sustainably raised meats that we purchase from Lothar, our artisanal butcher, every Saturday morning at the farmers market. I can eat every sort of fruit or vegetable offered at the family owned organic health food store we visit excitedly every few days. I can eat raw nuts and seeds. I can eat coconut milk and dark chocolate and bacon. I can eat well, very well.

By releasing my attachment to grains, a whole new world of alternative “flours” and baking techniques is slowly being discovered in my kitchen. Although the bulk of my diet consists mainly of simple, whole foods prepared and eaten with their natural integrity disturbed as little as possible, there are times when nothing will satisfy my cravings but a hot stack of pancakes or a slice of warm bread. My soul still calls for the comfort foods of its past. My intention is to nourish my spirit with the familiar smells and tastes and textures of the food it craves, but to do so with ingredients that facilitate a healthy and strong vessel for its journey.

This recipe for (paleo) quick bread is one of my very favorites. It is simple and delicious and my children gobble it up — a most perfect of combinations. I made this particular batch with frozen wild blueberries, but any sort of berry you enjoy would work equally as well. Fresh organic raspberries are especially divine. Enjoy!

~~~

2 cups almond flour
4 large eggs
2 Tbsp raw honey
1 Tbsp all natural vanilla extract
1 Tbsp ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp apple cider vinegar
1 cup berries of your choice

A. Combine dry ingredients in a medium bowl and whisk thoroughly to eliminate any clumps (almond flour is very moist compared to conventional wheat flour)

B. Combine wet ingredients and mix thoroughly

C. Stir the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients mixing until combined

D. Stir in the berries of your choice

E. Place batter into a greased (we use coconut oil) loaf pan and bake at 350 degrees for 35-45 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean

F. Cool in the pan for about 30 minutes then gently pop it out, slice and serve!

on my counter

This quick bread was inspired by a muffin recipe I found here.

