Tags

, , , , , , ,

~Slurpin’ Strawberry~

slurpin' strawberry

1 cup chilled raw coconut water
1 cup sparkling spring water
1 apple with skin on, cut into chunks
3 cups frozen strawberries

garnish with a few frozen blueberries.

~~~

Recently, with my health declining and my soul aching I made the hard decision, with the support of a wonderful holistic minded gastroenterologist, to embrace a new way of nourishing my body. This change means being even more intentional with the food choices I make. Now I choose only simple, real, whole foods for my belly — no grains, no legumes, no refined sugar, no dairy. I have never felt more well. My body feels fully nourished for the first time in years. I can sleep again and keep up with my children (most of the time). My skin is clearer and my eyes are brighter. I know when I am hungry and I know when I am full. I am no longer in pain. This just feels right.

I begin most days breaking my nightly fast with a light and refreshing smoothie. I like to ease into my digestive day and these simple treats are easy to make, yummy and packed with nutrition. Jarl has become my smoothie buddy and my most dedicated taste tester. We love tossing interesting combinations of fruits and veggies in our new Vitamix and tasting the delicious results. “Maybe baby kale next time? Oh, I think this needs pears! I really do like coconut water!” Green smoothies have been especially revolutionary for us. Even those of us with the most discerning of palates will slurp these down with delight. We are so excited to have discovered another way to enjoy the abundance of local winter greens we can’t resist buying at the farmer’s market. So good.

I have encountered a lot of curiosity about my new way of eating, so I thought you might enjoy a few of our very favorite smoothie recipes. These smoothies are a wonderful way to experience nourishment in a new way and I encourage you to give them a try. This is real, honest and whole food at its very best. Simply toss everything in a good quality blender, pour a glass for everyone and enjoy!

We use the the highest quality ingredients we can find (and afford) — sourcing as many local and organic ingredients as we can. Chia seeds tend to be expensive, but we have found that they are very reasonably priced at Costco (of all places!).

~~~

~Pumpkin Goodness~ 

image (1)

1 can coconut milk (we prefer Native Forest organic unsweetened)
1 can pumpkin purée
1 banana
1 Tbsp pure vanilla extract
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1/8 tsp ground cloves
1/8 tsp ground nutmeg
1/2 tsp ground ginger
2 tbsp chia seeds
2 cups ice

garnish with a spoonful of chia seeds and a sprinkle of cinnamon

~Blueberry Superfood

blueberry superfood 2 cups chilled raw coconut water
1 banana
1 pealed orange
2 cups frozen blueberries
2 cups fresh baby spinach
2 tbsp chia seeds
2 cups ice

garnish with a spoonful of chia seeds, fresh pomegranate seeds and jullienned spinach

~Tropical Greenness~

tropical green

1 can coconut milk
1 fresh whole pineapple including the core
2 cups baby kale (or other leafy green)
1 banana sliced and frozen
1 cup frozen mango chunks
1 cup ice

we drink this one down so fast it never gets a garnish!

