Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Art is what we call…the thing an artist does.

It’s not the medium or the oil or the price or whether it hangs on a wall or you eat it. What matters, what makes it art, is that the person who made it overcame the resistance, ignored the voice of doubt and made something worth making. Something risky. Something human.

Art is not in the …eye of the beholder. It’s in the soul of the artist.

~Seth Godin

freja

Life happens in small fleeting moments. In flashes. Blink, and you can miss it. The light changes, children grow, the song ends. When I first discovered photography fifteen years ago I began seeing beauty everywhere. I tried to capture it. To remember it. Ever so subtly, though, I noticed that my camera was beginning to create distance between me and my life’s magic. Between me and the beautiful wide open world around me. Between me and so many of life’s sweet juicy experiences. I was literally placing my big bulky camera between me and the people I love most. I was inserting a disruption. I was becoming an observer, not a participant. I was shifting the reality of my most precious moments. Oh, how I love photography and oh, how I have grieved this realization.

For this period of my life, right now, while I am so busy with my family, with my work, with my passions, I need simple, easy and effortless. I need balance. I need to both nurture my creative spirit so it can stretch and grow and explore while I remain fully engaged in my life. No more barriers. No more big camera slung around my neck, not right now.

reading by lamp light

all of us

I have recently rediscovered Instagram and am feeling a renewed surge of creative energy. I am able to use my iPhone to effortlessly capture each small, treasured moment of my day without my clunky camera intruding. The food I’m so passionate about, a simple moment with my family, a rare moment alone, a crochet project I’m happily hooking away on. Easy. Simple.

apples

If you have an Instagram account, I encourage you to follow me (@cedarmama) and join in the wonderful community of love and support I have discovered there. If you don’t, that’s okay too. You are most welcome to simply click the link I have in my sidebar (to the left) and explore my images. Just a warning, you may find your mouth watering…

delicious light

I’m sure this change will subtly alter both the quantity and tone of the images I publish at less & more. In this space is where you will find my very favorites, on Instagram you will find so many more. Enjoy.

