Tags

, , , ,

My intention is to take time every Wednesday to share with you what I have been creating and the pages I have been turning. My hope is that this will open up a space to help build community here at less & more. I would love to hear about the books you have been reading and to see the projects that have been keeping your hands busy!

This week I’m joining Ginny in her Yarn Along, but I probably won’t every week. I like to dive deeply into one type of project, leave it for a bit to pursue something else, then find my way back. I’ll use this space to display whatever I’m working on each week.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

It’s time for a few confessions… First, I have not finished the two hats I’ve been working on for the last few weeks. Those tiny stitches are beautiful, but they are making my eyes cross, even with my brand new glasses on. I really only need a couple of hours to get both of them finished and to tie the ends in. So, as of right now, I am setting a deadline of this weekend for completion of these projects. If I have to, I will force myself to go to the local coffee shop, order a steaming hot cup of chamomile tea, and not leave until they are finished. Sometimes, a crocheter just has to do what a crocheter has to do. I’m sure it will be rough. There are babies who need warm heads for goodness sake!

Another confession… I don’t seem to be able start a project without frogging it at least four times. I will start said project, take a look at it a few rows in, shake my head and wrinkle my nose, then frog the whole dang thing and start over. This may have something to do with my refusal to follow a pattern. Usually, by the third attempt I admit I must pull out some sort of pattern to reference and it helps. Shocker. I’m a slow learner sometimes. The yoga mat carrier I am working on now is chugging along at a steady pace now that I have finally figured out how I want to proceed. I’m not so sure I like it a whole lot, but it’s working up fast. What do you think of it?

Here’s my darkest, dirtiest confession… I have started a small library of books and none of them have held my interest. I don’t know if that is because I have unrealistic expectations (quite possible) or because I simply have too many irons in the fire to feel like I can justify the time to sit and read for pleasure (even more possible). I think along with those hats, I need to check a few other things off of my to-do list. Maybe I should start by actually making the to-do list.

I say that, but in the very next moment this thought occurs to me, “Hey You! You have four kids who have been off and on sick for weeks. You are busy nurturing the growth of new friendships and enjoying the bounty of friendships firmly rooted. You are truly engaged with your yoga practice again for the first time in years and you still manage to feed and clothe all of these little people you are responsible for. Oh, yeah, and you have a husband who needs a little lovin’ too. You really aren’t doing such a bad job.”

Whew. I think confessing my secrets was exactly the right thing to do – I’m feeling lighter already. It’s good to remember to be gentle with myself and the expectations I hold myself to. Yes, it is important to work from my heart, but it is also important to make space in my life when the living of it gets too busy or just plain messy. That stack of books will be waiting for me when the kids are finally all healthy again and my crochet hooks will be happy to get back to work when my to-do list isn’t quite so long. For now, a quiet morning with my girls feels like a good place to start – maybe I’ll get to a few of those teeny-tiny stitches, or one of those to-do list projects later.

