Tags

, , ,

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

It’s Easter today, and in our family that means there must be deviled eggs. We traditionally hunt down our colorful little gems while our eyes are still bleary in the wee hours of the morning and, after a strong cup of coffee, I whip them up into a yummy batch of eggy goodness for our mid-morning snack. My version is so simple I don’t even use measurements. Just wholesome organic eggs, some high quality mayo, a hearty dollop of zingy dijon mustard and – here is the secret to the best deviled eggs you will ever eat – pungent fresh dill. From our family to yours, may you have a blessed and joyful day. Enjoy!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

OUR RECIPE:

Ingredients:

Hard boiled eggs – we usually make two dozen for our family of six
Mayonaise
Spicy dijon mustard
Fresh dill
Salt & Pepper to taste
Smoked paprika for garnish

Directions:

I like to give my hard boiled eggs a serious scrubbin’ after their grand adventure out into the big wide world that is my very, um, lived in home. Then I crack the shells and let them soak in cool water for about 10 minutes (just long enough for that strong cup of coffee). After their spa treatment, they are a cinch to peal. A quick rinse will remove any bits of shell or membrane still attached. Next, it’s time to halve them and remove the yolks into a medium sized glass bowl. With a fork, I gently break up the yolks into a heartily textured crumble. No yolky paste for this family! Now it’s time to add a couple of scoops of mayo and a heafty dollop of dijon mustard. This is where you can easily adjust this recipe to your taste – a little more mayo will result in a wetter mixture, more mustard will spice it up. Finely chop the fresh dill and mix that in with salt and pepper to taste. For the big finish, simply spoon the yolky deliciousness you have just made back into the whites, add a sprinkle of smoked paprika and a few sprigs of fresh dill, then dig in. I’m a little selfish and have learned over the years to stash a few on my plate before I serve them to the rest of my clan because by the time I turn around they will have vanished! Happy Easter!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

