Tags

, , , ,

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
My intention is to take time every Wednesday to share with you what I have been creating and the pages I have been turning. My hope is that this will open up a space to help build community here at less & more. I would love to hear about the books you have been reading and to see the projects that have been keeping your hands busy!

This week I’m joining Ginny in her Yarn Along, but I probably won’t every week. I like to dive deeply into one type of project, leave it for a bit to pursue something else, then find my way back. I’ll use this space to display whatever I’m working on each week.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

This morning I find myself bleary eyed and exhausted. Both Willow and Freja woke during the night with a tummy bug. So far it seems mild as these things go and they are sleeping peacefully in the next room. Sweet sick girls. I managed to capture this image in the quiet overcast light that welcomed me early this morning.

I took the advice a fellow Yarn Along-er offered (Thanks Rachel!) and finished the hat I was working on last week with a simple ribbing made by single crocheting into the back loop only of the last few rounds. When I have the ends tied in, and also have this next hat I’m working on finished, I’ll make sure to show both finished projects to you. These hats are headed off as gifts to two special little heads, one now a big sister and one brand new to this world. I just hope they will be able to use them at least once or twice before this weird eighty degree weather decides to stick around for good.

I’m working with the smallest yarn I have to date. It is the softest of lace weight baby alpaca in deep water-colored greens and blues. It’s calming to work and soft in my hands. I am liking the teeny tiny hook and the teeny tiny stitches – just 2.5mm – once I am a few rounds in anyway.

We finally finished Trumpet of the Swan and loved it through and through. It was such a lovely story with both a silly and gentle sense of humor and a kind soul. Last night we started Little House in the Big Woods. After hearing so many of my Yarn Along companions talk about the Little House series over these past winter months, when asked by my mom what we would like her to send our little people for Valentine’s Day this year I suggested she get us this treasured series. (It can be tricky sending gifts to a family in the throws of a serious and intentional downsize. Thanks, Mom!) I remember reading all of these books as a young girl and am excited to share these stories with my little ones. They are timeless tales of struggle and joy and family and childhood. Good stuff, these books.

Now I’m off to make tea and snuggle with two sick little girls.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
My mind quiets and my well fills when I am engaged with a good book or when my hands are busy making something beautiful. If you feel moved to share what you have been up to, please leave a link in the comments section so we can revel in each other’s creative pursuits. Maybe we’ll even find a couple of new titles to request from the library.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

