Tags

, , , , ,

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
My intention is to take time every Wednesday to share with you what I have been creating and the pages I have been turning. My hope is that this will open up a space to help build community here at less & more. I would love to hear about the books you have been reading and to see the projects that have been keeping your hands busy!

This week I’m joining Ginny in her Yarn Along, but I probably won’t every week. I like to dive deeply into one type of project, leave it for a bit to pursue something else, then find my way back. I’ll use this space to display whatever I’m working on each week.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

It feels so good to have some beautiful yarn back on my hook this week!

I’m in the process of making yet another hat (they seem to be my very favorite things to make) as a gift for a special little one. This yarn is so small and delicate it’s taking me forever to crochet this simple cap. Good thing I planned it that way! I seem to burn through yarn so fast I thought that choosing a smaller yarn would force me to take my time – and it’s working. The 3.25mm hook may have something to do with my slow pace as well. I’m making up the pattern as I go along and I’m kind of stumped as to how I want to finish it. I tried something I thought would work and decided I didn’t like it, so I frogged it and am starting the last part over again. I think what I really want is to figure out a way to do some sort of simple ribbing – any advice would be most welcome!

Freja is my ever-present creative helper these days. With everyone else off to school we have a lot of fun camping out on my bed with a project to play with. We usually turn on some tunes and chit-chat our way through the afternoon. On this day she assisted me by feeding me yarn from the ball as I needed it. She may have gotten distracted once or twice.

Reading this week as been light. The weather here in Northern Virginia has been deliciously warm and inviting – I’m talking mid-seventies and sunny! We have been drinking in every last drop of fresh air, so our bodies have been completely exhausted by the time they fall into bed at the end of the day. As a family, we have only read a chapter or two of Trumpet of the Swan. Even with so few pages read this week, we are still nearing the end of our adventure with Sam and Louis. I’m happy to linger a little longer over the last few moments with these enchanting characters. This book has been joyful, silly fun from beginning to end. I have thoroughly enjoyed all of the family discussions we’ve had that were started by reading one of the many anachronistic phrases found in the story. It amazes me how much our use of language has changed even in the short time since E.B. White originally penned this coming-of-age tale.

Neil Gaiman is still rocking my world with American Gods. I am purposefully taking my time with his meandering dark tale, just as I am intentionally taking my time with my latest crochet project and lingering with Sam and Louis. Maybe all of my efforts to practice patience are starting to finally starting to pay off. Or maybe it’s just spring and I would rather stop to smell the flowers.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
My mind quiets and my well fills when I am engaged with a good book or when my hands are busy making something beautiful. If you feel moved to share what you have been up to, please leave a link in the comments section so we can revel in each other’s creative pursuits. Maybe we’ll even find a couple of new titles to request from the library.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

