Tags

, , , , ,

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
My hands have been busy this week and the stack of books by my bedside has been steadily growing. My intention is to take time every Wednesday to share with you what I have been creating and the pages I have been turning. My hope is that this will open up a space to help build community here at less & more. I would love to hear about the books at your bedside and see the projects that have been keeping your hands busy!

I like to dive deeply into one type of project, leave it for a bit to pursue something else, then find my way back. I’ll use this space to display whatever I’m working on each week.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Just a quick update this week. I spent so much of my creative energy up in the mountains of Vermont I have needed to spend significant time resting my tired creative muscles. I feel like I am recharging my batteries so I will be ready to take on my next big creative endeavor. I am planning on making a trip to the yarn store tomorrow, so I’m sure there will be something new and scrumptious on my hook next week.

I have been spending a bit of time this week folding a few cranes. I originally intended to fold my goal of one thousand peace cranes by my birthday this year. I know, it was an ambitious goal. I have let it go. My birthday came and went and I had only about one fifth of them completed. That’s okay. I think I may realistically finish them by the holiday season later this year – I imagine them decorating our holiday tree in all their splendor. This crochet bug has bitten me hard and I am having fun letting it carry me away. My cranes are always in the background, patiently waiting for attention.

During a quick stop into Michael’s this past week on an unrelated errand, I noticed that their origami paper was on clearance. I nabbed a ton of beautiful quality paper for next to nothing. It’s so pretty it cannot be ignored. I’ve found a simple joy in letting my hands work the familiar folds and creases they know by heart. It is beginning to feel like a true act of meditation. I have been surprised to discover that whether I fold one or two or twenty in an evening I still feel the same sense of accomplishment. They are, each and every one, so very special.

As for reading, my husband finally convinced me to give his favorite author a try. Eric adores Neil Gaiman and has been suggesting his adult fiction to me for years. It’s silly really, I have a history of resisting his cultural suggestions – I mean seriously, heels dug into the ground resisting them – then for no apparent reason I will open up, give one of his suggestions a whirl and then fall head-over-heels in love with them. This has happened to me with David Bowie, cornbread with syrup and milk and now, Neil Gaiman. I think deep down I don’t like being told what I will or will not like. Like some punk kid I feel I have to arrive at my decision to participate in my own time. Oh, I have issues. Eric just chuckled and shook his head when he found me sitting in a bath that had turned cold with my nose stuck in American Gods a few nights ago. I’m really, really enjoying it – it’s a page turner for sure. It definitely isn’t for everyone, but it is satisfying the dark side that still resides within me, somewhere deep down. It’s official. I’m a fan. I even follow him on Twitter (@neilhimself). Geesh.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
My mind quiets and my well fills when I am engaged with a good book or when my hands are busy making something beautiful. If you feel moved to share what you have been up to, please leave a link in the comments section so we can revel in each other’s creative pursuits. And maybe even find a couple of books to add to the stack.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

