Tags

, , , , , ,

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
My hands have been busy this week and the stack of books by my bedside has been steadily growing. My intention is to take time every Wednesday to share with you what I have been creating and the pages I have been turning. My hope is that this will open up a space to help build community here at less & more. I would love to hear about the books at your bedside and see the projects that have been keeping your hands busy!

This week I’m joining Ginny in her Yarn Along, but I probably won’t every week. I like to dive deeply into one type of project, leave it for a bit to pursue something else, then find my way back. I’ll use this space to display whatever I’m working on each week.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The little storage container I was making last week is completely constructed. It is lacking decoration, but the girls have already put it to use so I’m not sure when exactly I’ll be able to snatch it away for a few hours to finish with the needle felting I have planned. I would like to felt the shape of all the children’s hands into the bottom. They are growing so fast. I thought this might be a fun way to capture where they are right now – playing with their dollies in a land of make-believe.

I did wash it a couple of times in my front-loading washer in an attempt to felt it. This was my first attempt at felting and it didn’t go how I expected. I think I crocheted it with too small a hook, because it only shrank a little and all of the stitches are still very apparent. Washing it did make it feel a bit more sturdy – which was really my goal – so I’m satisfied. It was was fun to try something new and now I know a little bit more about the felting process than I did before.

We are steadily reading our way through The Trumpet of the Swan every evening we are all together. So far it has been a beautiful story – the language is so sweet and peaceful. Sam, a boy about Jarl’s age (10), discovers a trumpeter swan nest in the Canadian wilderness while camping with his father. He manages, over time, to establish a relationship of sorts with the mother and father swan. It has just been discovered that Louis, the cygnet hatched from the fifth and final egg, cannot speak as his siblings do. My little people are completely absorbed in this little cygnet’s story – they are quite concerned for him. They also find the father swan’s long “poetical and proud” monologues hilarious – he is often heard talk, talk, talking away – and they love to mimic him as they are shuffling off to bed. I chuckle to myself as I follow behind them with kisses and good-nights. It’s a silly way to end the day.

I picked up Fire by Kristen Cashore this week and have been reading a page or two before I fall into a coma at the end of the day. I read her first book Graceling and enjoyed it enough to give this one a go. So far, so good! It is a story set in a magical place with strange creatures and troubled times – all the makings of a good story in my experience.

I’m planning on taking a small break before I start my next crochet project. I have my eye on a beautiful cowl I would like to make for myself but I’m going to have to save my pennies so I can splurge on some special yarn to use on this first project for myself. I’m hoping to have a few treasured skeins in my bag when I head up to Vermont at the end of this month for my week-long personal retreat. I can’t wait to be sitting by a crackling fire in snowy Vermont with a new project on my lap… Soon enough, soon enough.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
My mind quiets and my well fills when I am engaged with a good book or when my hands are busy making something beautiful. If you feel moved to share what you have been up to, please leave a link in the comments section so we can revel in each other’s creative pursuits. And maybe even find a couple of books to add to the stack.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

